Tech Plant AV Gun Adjustments

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Money, Dec 1, 2016.

1. Money

Can someone explain to me the reasoning for removing all Anti Vehicle Guns from the Tech Plant battlements? When an enemy zerg is heading for the most important base that you hold, you no longer have the ability to hold off vehicles approaching? I thought that we all agreed years ago that you can't nerf an empire's ability to defend it's territory.............
    • Up x 3
  2. cobrakhan5

As a PS2 veteran i am gonna second this... stupid f8ucking move. And removing MAx sprint.......... thanks for making max pretty much unsoloable now ****ers
  3. Niamar

The easiest way for me to kill infantry is with the AV turrents, I expect more nerfs to come.
  4. Daigons

Finally I'll get some peace and quiet by not getting any more 30 minute long rage /tells from players that I kill in those turrets.
  5. Money

then you just adjust it's effectiveness against infantry? But to remove them completely?
  6. The Shady Engineer

Someone who tested this stuff on PTS- Did the AV turrets on the gun deck get replaced with AA or are they just gone?
  7. The Shady Engineer

As for why they're doing it, I can think of 2 reasons.

1) Being situated as high as they were, the AV turrets could cover pretty ridiculous distances, allowing for easy shelling of adjacent bases to the tech plant. This also caused some render issues and no one likes to get killed by an invisible turret 450 meters away.

2) The AV turrets were better at shooting down aircraft than the flak turrets. Mostly bigger air like Libs and Gals but I've seen good turret operators pull off chain kills on ESFs.

That said, I think this is a bad change. Tech plant are supposed to be fortified citadels. The gun deck is supposed to provide powerful fire support for the facility.
  8. Demigan

The turrets are just gone, an empty spot where an engineer AV turret can be placed.