Tank balance discussion.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by BreakerP16, Mar 26, 2023.

1. BreakerP16

Alright, so I've been around the block when it comes to tank battles in planetside (I mainly use tanks!)

Let me just preface my post by saying that I'm not perfect and I have some biases but I have noticed some issues with Tanks that I don't see discussed much. This post will focus on tank on tank combat or their general usefulness in or against an armor column, lastly, the Chimera will be ignored as I have no experience with driving those thanks except 5 minutes in the VR input from NSO mains on the Chimera would be appreciated.

I'll start with giving my blunt rating of the MBTs right now and give my two cents into what could be done to make the tanks more even without hitting everything with nerfs (I think buff are usually more palatable than nerfs.) and without removing what makes each MBT unique.

So when it comes to tank combat I think the order from best to worst (In my experience and from what I have observed) goes something like this: Magrider, Vanguard and lastly Prowler.

Immediately I'm gonna see people go "But Prowlers deal the most damage and Magriders the least." or other things along those line. Yes the prowler has the best DPS by a landslide, but damage isn't everything in a tank engagement. I actually think that positioning and mobility are the two most important elements when it comes to fighting tanks or holding of an armor column. While firepower and survivability are mostly useful for pushing with and armor column.

Now this is getting long already so let's go with a quick rundown of why I placed the tanks as they are with a short list of pros and cons for each.