Strove Pokes Holes In: Directive Weapons

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by strove, Nov 4, 2014.

1. strove

Its me again, going on a forum crusade for discussions and opinions.
    First off i am a young game design student with an intrest in game fairness. Try not to accuse me of being faction biased.
    Directives are great... They actually are, it extends the play time of veteran players and has potential to be used as a game play tutorial as suggested in recent videos by Wrel.

What does bug me, and i suspect a reasonable portion of other players is the direcitve level weapons.
    Heres the thing, i actually quite like the idea of them, i agree with the small changes in their stats be comparison to their starter weapon counterparts. Not obviously more powerful but different enough to have its reasons for being used. Part of me things that the weapons have less appeal compared to the defaults because of their other stats locked by attachments but im not too bothered. Any one with these weapons is using them for the bling effect (look at mah shiney bling yo, it totally makes me look better than you)

What bugs me is:
    and this is where any one reading my other threads thinks im a vanu hater
    The vanu weapons have infinate ammo, the drawback is a lower theoretical mag right? The players who have these weapons dont need any more shots than the single charge to kill people, and with never really having to reload and never running out of ammo its a clear shot upgrade over almost every weapon.