Planetside 2 - Class Decision

Discussion in 'Light Assault' started by Aoze, Dec 21, 2012.

1. Aoze

Heya guys!

I'm really new to Planetside 2, and can't actually start playing it yet as to me having a Mac. ( Please don't turn this into a flame war about Mac's being horrible, I know, I'm getting a new PC in a few weeks | months. ) But I just wanted a little bit of help. What would you guys suggest as a starter class, and why? I'm personally thinking of going mainly as a Light Assault, but I wanted to know your opinions. If this is in the wrong place, I apologize, and if it could possibly be moved, that'd be great? Thanks, and I'm sure I'm going to love this game :)
  2. Clail

Class choice is usually situational for me. LA is great outdoors where you have places to get up and hide/flank from. Indoors a heavy will likely stomp you.

Try them all, see what works you. I find LA's are great for ambushing/medium range sniping and such, but for close combat the abilities of a Heavy or perhaps even a Medic is more useful.
  3. VKhaun

Yeah it's not like an MMO where you have to 'pick a class' and then you're locked in. You can change on the fly more like TF2.

To start out, I would say the light assault is a good choice. It's simple, and it shares carbine weapons with another good choice: The engineer, so unlocking a carbine (or shotgun) and attachments for it (or for a shotgun) will carry over between the two.

I recommend getting the carbine for your faction with access to the advanced laser sight attachment, and playing that for a while. The laser sight improves hip fire and the special 'advanced' laser sight improves it more but not all guns get the advanced version. Once you have softpoint ammunition and the advanced laser sight on your weapon, you will learn to burst properly for the game'ss shooting mechanics because firing from the hip lets you see how your crosshair changes.