[Guide] In Defense of Statistics

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Tristan, Jun 24, 2013.

1. Tristan

Kill/Death, Facilities Captured / Defended, Kills per Hour, Score per Minute, Accuracy, and Play Time. I have seen all of these items maligned and defended. They're all useless. They're all the ultimate measure of skill.

The fact is that we have statistics tracking. It is not going to go away. A great number of people like looking at stats, and the argument that if you don't care about them, just don't look at them is completely valid. That said, stats need to be examined in the context of their relationships with each other and with game play mechanics.

I worked in the game industry for 5 years, and now work in corporate software QA; figuring out how things SHOULD work has been a part of my job for a long time. On top of that, I've been involved in one of the top PS1 outfits for years having to judge applicants based on a pretty rigid set of criteria for recruitment. I WISH I had all of the stats we have available now back then. It would have saved us a lot of time.

With that, I am going to go through each of them and explain their pros, cons, and beneficial relationships.

----------------------------

Kill/Death Ratio:
    This is the stat that some people prop up their characters on, and others think should be removed from the game. With a few notable exceptions, you can usually figure out what someone's opinion on this is based on what their K/D is. This simple fact makes it pretty clear that a majority of people think it is important, if only because they think other people will judge them based on it.