I really enjoy playing Planetside 2

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by synkrotron, Dec 7, 2020.

1. synkrotron

But I ain't very good.

I'm sixty now. I've been playing computer games since my dad got a Binatone Pong game back in the early seventies.

Eventually I settled into FPS games having played the original DOOM for a time. I just preferred that style of game. Before that it was mainly platformers like Jill of the Jungle or Duke Nukem, and I enjoyed those too, but once I started playing DOOM that was it, I was hooked.

I also enjoy playing the Gran Turismo stuff, but haven't done that for a while. I'm even worse at driving games than I am at shoot 'em ups.

For a time I played the original Counter Strike, but, yeah, you guessed it... I was hopeless at that, too.

I gave up FPS games for a time as I was getting really into Gran Turismo, but the guys who I used to race with online were into other games, one such game being Battlefield 3. So they convinced me to get that for the Playstation 3.

It was probably the worse gaming experience I had ever had, in terms of being able to hold my own and make headway. I remember having something like a K/D of 0.01 and, yes, I had died a hundred times before I managed to get my first kill. But I still enjoyed playing with the guys I raced with and I would always play some kind of support role and hop along in someone's tank. But, eventually, they got bored and I didn't enjoy the game enough to continue playing it on my own.

But I really wanted to try some more first person online shooter game and in September 2013 I discovered Planetside 2.

I started free to play, to begin with, just to see what it was like. I was blown away by the size and scale of the game, having as many as 400 players battling away at some base on Indar. Totally amazing.