How the low TTK neuters weapon variety

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by gunshooter, Jan 13, 2013.

1. gunshooter

I made this video to address common complaints about weapon variety. I offer the thought here that maybe it's not as simple as tweaking numbers, perhaps the core design of the game would not allow such tweaks - something that many people do not think about when posting here, especially about the special HA weapons.

I'm no game designer but to me, problems such as this are very obvious, so i'm surprised that other people haven't picked up on them.
    • Up x 15
  2. softgrip

GD-7F - the full auto pull goes up and left. Makes a huge difference. You have to learn the bullet spread.

The differences can be in how the gun feels. At least in the circumstance of the GD-7F, the gunplay is very different from the other weapons.

... and if there are multiple enemies and you have the chaingun already spun up...

You summed this up perfectly - "I'm no game designer but to me..."
    • Up x 1
  3. Koadster

BF3 has a similair low TTK, and each of its 70+ weapons all feel unique..

Havent tested alot of other faction guns but TR, you can tell difference between the T1 vs TRV vs SABR13 vs TAR, Carv vs TMG50 vs MSW-R. The differences arent as profound as BF3s weapon variety but its there.

Other people havent picked up on it because people do feel variety. I always hear on outfit chat people comparing guns and telling eachother how different guns preform differently.
    • Up x 3
  4. gunshooter

Kind of like 80% of other carbines which have the exact same recoil pattern (sometimes to the right instead of left, though.) A different recoil pattern doesn't magically make a weapon "unique." It just changes which way you drag your mouse when firing full auto. Variety would be something truly unique, such as the MCG or Lasher if they didn't need to be kept useless for the sake of game balance.