How do I recognise allies and enemies?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Ripples, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Ripples

Hi. I've started playing this game yesterday and played about 3 to 4 hours of it. I think once I get the hang of it, I think it will be alot of fun. But I've been having one major problem however (apart from being bad) - I can't seem to distinguish between friends and enemies when attacking enemy bases.

It's not a colour blindness issue - it's that I'm new to FPSes in general and so when I enter an enemy base and see someone with their gun pointed at me I shoot them until either I die or they die. But I've killed 4 people this way and the game started to tell me that I won't be tolerated and will be punished for it.

I don't mean to do it but I don't really know how to differentiate quickly between allies or enemies. The type of armour looks weird and looks similar enough that I can't really tell just from a glance. Does the remote arrow targetting thing reveal who it is? It might sound funny but the harshest thing has been the fact that one of the factions is Blue and all your allies are marked blue too while there are also purple (I'm in Vanu Sovereignity) arrows on the map so I keep shooting people I think are the New Conglomerate only to find out they were on my team.

I really don't want to get banned over something that seems so... stupid. I would appreciate any help in differentiating, especially quickly, between friend and foe.

Thanks for reading.
  2. 13lackCats

If you're new to FPS, then you have a curve to climb. Enemy recognition is a big deal.

In this game, you'll have the red triangle.

Without red triangle, (I NEVER press Q), it will be a matter of conditioning. You'll figure it out after a while.
  3. DiscetoPT

Spam the Q button.
  4. Cute-CandyPants