Heavy Assault with a battle rifle

Discussion in 'Heavy Assault' started by iamihop, Feb 22, 2015.

1. iamihop

So, I get the impression that I'm the only person on the planet who likes playing as a heavy with a battle rifle (Eidolon).

I'm new, and I had no clue what I was doing when I bought my first weapon and opted for the Eidolon. The result was immense frustration and a k/d ratio around 0.3. It doesn't help that I'm not good at FPS in the first place, I kept getting myself in face-to-face confrontations with other heavies, I willingly became cannon fodder in large battles, or stiid still to snipe and (of course) got walloped in the head.

However, since I started a week ago, I've gotten much better with the battle rifle, and I'm now typically at 1.1 or 1.2 k/d, playing exclusively as infantry. By most standards, that's not good, but I suspect it's better than most people assume would be possible for a noob heavy with a battle rifle. The key is keeping space in between me and other heavies, but it doesn't have to be a lot of space. I just back up an extra 10 meters and pop them in the head. Because I'm heavy, I find I stand a much better chance of surviving such confrontations than when playing as an inf or others.

It's always satisfying to take out a 100br heavy in a one-on-one shootout, as the bulk of their rounds go sailing past me. The rifle can't put as many rounds downrange as LMGs, but the precise aim compensates. The 4x scope is just about perfect for the Eidolon. I've dropped non-heavies at mid-range with a single head shot.

Does anyone else use the heavy's durability with mid-range marksmanship? I know the conventional wisdom is that it's insane, but the Eidolon feels so much more powerful than my LMG, so I keep going back to it.
    • Up x 2
  2. AlterEgo

Oh God...

I was EXACTLY like you when I first started playing the game. Oh God... the memories:')