[Suggestion] Ground-based AA could use a buff.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Talthos, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Talthos

Now, before you eat me alive and accuse me of being a whiny 'infantrysider', let me just make this clear: I am a shameless ground-pounding ESF pilot, and this suggestion is coming from a guy who thinks that his ground-pounding farm job is currently too bloody easy.

Seriously, it's gotten to the point where I don't even need to run Fire Suppression anymore; I can just effortlessly air dance away from the flak and lock-on launchers, and repair in safety far out of their range. And even if I get locked on, I roll Scout Radar anyway, so locating the offending HA takes no time at all, at which point I dump a stream of ground-pounding rounds into his face, then move on.

The only consistently dangerous threats that I face as a ground pounder pilot these days, is other pilots. The ground, in stark contrast, is an easily-evaded, barely consequential nuisance.

Both flak and lock-ons should not not be this easy to evade and ignore; if my ESF has been hit by 1-2 seconds worth of uninterrupted flak damage, I should be dead. Not 'burning'. Dead.

Like, come on; can't you let the ground threaten me just a little more effectively? I want it to actually mean something in the moments that I manage to survive being targeted by multiple ground-based AA sources.
    • Up x 4
  2. OldMaster80

The problem is very general. There are too many sources of damage for aircraft, but each of them deals a ridiculous damage.

This leads basically to 2 possible scenarios: in big fights flying is a total nightmare due to constant plinking from the ground and endless lock-ons.
    In small battles ground forces are instead defenceless against aircraft.
    The only decent option is the Skyguard with Engagement Radar as it hits from insane distance. But we all know it's only annoying, getting kills is just a mere question of luck.