Do we need a MAX overhaul ?

Discussion in 'MAX' started by Sofloan, Oct 14, 2022.

1. Sofloan

Hello there !

I've been playing since 2012 and I noticed that the MAX class hasn't evolved at all unlike the rest of the classes.

No new weapons, no new mecanics and due to the new meta and how the game plays maxes feels like a cheat code to win a fight sometimes.
    And maybe this is just my own feeling but as a VS main, I feel like the TR and NC weapons as by far better, I rarely win 1v1 with my VS MAX against other MAX.

They're a big menace to infantry and thats verry interesting, the fact you have to have an engineer with you to be repaired is even more interesting. But you can spawn them as hordes to take a too easy advantage over a fight, no real strategy involved, just shoot, walk, die, restart...

In my opinion, this class has a huge potential to be a precious ressource that you have to take care of on the battlefield, it could benefit from some new max only implant, new arsenal, new abilities (jump pack, suicide bomb...)
    Maybe this can go further with new controler (how the MAX walks and behave), make it a vehicle ? (get in and out ), anything is possible maybe we can discuss wether or not an overhaul is necessary, and what can be done to fix the overpop/zerg strat gameplay we have today.

Thanks !
  2. TR5L4Y3R

• Up x 1
  3. Sofloan

4. Liewec123

i'd say yeah.
    anti-max power creep and no max changes has led to them becoming little more than 450 nanite cert-pinatas.
    ready to be popped for some free xp.

if i could change max i'd double their health and remove the ability to revive them.

for weapons i wouldn't change too much,
    but i'd give gen 1 AV weapons much more reserve ammo (like they used to have early on)

i'd add new defensive implants,
    such as NC having an implant that slowly regens their health while they have their shield active,
    and TR having an implant that greatly increases resistances while locked down.