Difficulties playing NC HA

Discussion in 'Heavy Assault' started by DazedNConfused, Nov 27, 2012.

1. DazedNConfused

hello all. I freely admit I'm a total newb and as stated, I was attempting to play an NC Heavy Assault but honestly I was having great difficulty pulling it off. I was expecting to be able to take a hit etc, dish out some damage vs lights and continue on. However, I find that on just about any 1 on 1 situation I die.

Now...I'm not good. I know this. I'm a 40 year old non-twitch kinda guy. That's why I went with HA, I figured it would help compensate. However, I seem to die very, very easily to light assaults. Is this because I don't have any cert points spent etc? Or have I just over-estimated what it means to be a heavy assault. Perhaps people could give me some recommendations on general tactics as well as cert builds to help?

And please...no need to flame. Again, I know I'm not very good so no need to try to bruise my non-existant ego.
  2. Swordlord

I'm a 50-year-old non-twitch guy, so I empathize.

My first suggestion is that you take advantage of the weapon testing feature in the Certification menu. This feature gives you 30 minutes to test various weapons for the various classes. For HA, choose HA from the certification icon after hitting ESC. scroll down to a weapon you'd like to try, and clock UNLOCK. It will give you three options: Purchase with SC; Purchase with Certification points; or Trial (in blue at the bottom). The trials cost nothing. The only down side is that there is 7.5 hour cool-down period before you can test another weapon.

I don't know what faction you play, so I can't suggest specific weapons at this point. However, some basic certification considerations would be items that stabilize your HA LMG, such as the Compensator and Forward Grip.
  3. Snowmageddon