[Suggestion] Change the icon that represents the router on the map

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Inzababa, Jul 6, 2018.

1. Inzababa

Reason : it looks exactly like a base teleport

(I suppose you noticed? @@)

Reason why it's not good that it looks like a teleporter for a base :

a) that's just lazy devs, plain and simple, no time to make a simple icon, just copy paste, bad, bad devs, bad and lazy devs, this won't look good on your resume "I was a dev for PS2 and I made the icon for the router by simply using an existing icon".

b) it's confusing, it can be confusing for a lot of people who don't all know what a router is or what it does, since it"s a new feature and not really used all the time in every base.

it's even confusing to people who do know, it blends in as a camouflage

c) the colour? The colour doesn't matter ! Just please spend 20 seconds out of your day and make a "router" icon for "routers"?

Or is confusing people and camouflaging it and using an existing symbol intended? The fruit of weeks of brain storming and study?
    • Up x 5
  2. PlanetBound

The color of the router spawn looks like VS to me.
  3. Luicanus

Yeah, I'm pretty sure the colour is based one whos it is. Faction Squad/Platoon or your own, like tanks are.
    • Up x 1
  4. Blam320

I'd have a bit more respect for this if your number one complaint wasn't the devs being lazy. While I agree the router pad icon should be different, reusing assets for new material isn't a new concept that only DBC uses to try and sneak in the minimum possible work.
    • Up x 1
  5. Luicanus

I kind of imagined it as a placeholder, although DBG does have a bad habit of leaving it's placeholders as permanent fixtures years later. *Cough* HossinConstructionn Sites *Cough*
  6. PlanetBound

Looks like VS to me.
  7. Blam320