AMR usage

Discussion in 'Engineer' started by KuroNoKitsune, Jun 5, 2015.

1. KuroNoKitsune

Since the Anti-Material rifle is coming to engineers instead of infiltrators (the class that would have benefited the most from the weapon since despite being specialized in Anti-infantry but usually falling short of every other class in that regard), I've been wondering but, how many engineers are actually going to use it when you already have access to anti tank mines, C4, and an AV turret that does so much more damage, and can be guided.
    • Up x 1
  2. _itg

c4 and AT mines aren't going to work on distant MAXes, and the AV turret is a deathtrap in most situations. I expect to buy the AMR and use it when I'm an outdoor engineer not far from a sunderer, maybe from the top level of tower bases, and possibly certain spawn rooms. These are all situations where you can expect to see distant MAXes and shouldn't be at great personal risk (except from snipers, which I hope I can counter by dancing around like a madman between shots and firing too fast for the average bush wookie to get a bead on me), because of nearby allies. You'll notice I named locations all near infantry terminals, because I think this is a weapon you'd want to pull to deal with a specific threat and then put away, rather than a gun you want to carry around for general use.
    • Up x 1
  3. SW0V

This is why I'm on a crusade to get it moved into the engineers turret slot, instead of the primary slot.

If it goes live as a primary weapon, I won't be buying it, if it gets moved to the turret slot, I'll be buying it as soon as it is released.
    • Up x 3
  4. Deffington

So I'm not the only one? Great! I tried it on test server, can't imagine I would have to run with it all the time.
  5. _itg

I think it will be way too obnoxious if you can carry the AMR with no downside. The turrets are all so bad/situational that every engineer of means will have the AMR at all times.
  6. Casterbridge