[Suggestion] Ammo Drop - Auto RETURN to last weapon !

Discussion in 'Engineer' started by Rainproof, Apr 9, 2015.

1. Rainproof

Before this patch (4-9-15) when the Engineer dropped ammo it automatically switched back to your last weapon / repair tool. With this patch it now stays with the Ammo pack in hand ? I really wish the DEVs would put the old "ammo drop auto back to weapon / tool" back to use. Nothing like running around a corner with a hand full of ammo (dead) or charging way forward to help a Heavy with ammo and kill a MAX with your SMG. That extra second or two makes the difference.
    • Up x 15
  2. Veezora

I was looking to see if anyone else had this issue. I just started playing Planetside 2, and I've been maining Engineer. Before, it seemed like you could drop ammo with F mid-repair, and return to repairs with no interruptions.

Now, dropping ammo with the F key switches the active slot to the ammo pack after deploying ammo. As I just dropped an ammo pack, there is no reason to need to drop another, and the time it takes to switch back to my repair tool or ammo pack is tedious at best. I also noticed that there is no cooldown on the time it takes to drop the ammo packs.

Why not simply remove the ammo pack slot, as it already functions as the Engineer's "ability", and simply have it function on F to drop an ammo pack, and return to your previous weapon/tool?
    • Up x 3
  3. Iridar51

It is amazing how they manage to break stuff completely unrelated to stuff they were fixing.
    • Up x 8
  4. Nisto

Lol how do i shout out to nearby engies that i need ammo? All i see ohn quick chat is the command for a medic ...
  5. ZZYZX

I noticed the same thing...I seem to get "stuck" with the ammo pack now, whereas before, I didn't have that same problem.
    • Up x 1
  6. ZDarkShadowsZ