A thorough analysis of Esamir's reworked bases.

Discussion in 'Test Server: Discussion' started by ItsJustDelta, Sep 16, 2020.

1. ItsJustDelta

Hello. I normally don't go into extreme detail for game updates, but the Esamir update on PTS has some... concerning problems. For context, I'm an MBT driver. I've done a lot with all 3 vehicles, both as an infantry farmer and far more work done beating up on infantry farmers. I know a lot about how to cheese bases in a brutally efficient manner as a result.
    So, to start off, I'm going to list the current problems with Esamir, as it stands on live: Number 1 is poor base positioning in bad terrain. This enables lots of unnecessary HESH spam, such as current Aurora Materials being below a hill that allows the spawn room to be blasted easily. Problem 2 is terrible sunderer position options. Base caps live or die because of the use of routers, since many sunderer positions are very easily sniped. Problem 3 is poor lattice. Esamir's lattice forces people into meatgrinder bases where fights stagnate infinitely. The NW and NE warpgates have a ridiculously short distance between them, while the Southern WG has an absurd distance between it and its foes. This leads to the S warpgate being extremely favored in starting alerts.
    Therefore, to be successful, an Esamir revamp must improve its lattice lanes, reduce infantry farming by vehicle, improve base placement/design/bus positions, and reduce meatgrinders.