jet pack question

Discussion in 'Light Assault' started by Twigg, Nov 21, 2012.

1. Twigg

As a complete rookie, I have a dumb question. Why can't i get my jet pack to work? I have the hotkey for the "use" ability. Is that not the ability that triggers the JP? Do I need to turn it on or something? thanks !!
  2. Unmovingtarget

3. Twigg

aha !! thought maybe I was out of fuel or something !! Thanks so much !! Are there any instructions for this basic type stuff? I watched some of the you tube tuturials.
  4. Doublefrost

I don't think there are any tutorials, at least that I know of. Just get a feel for your range and momentum, know that the cert upgrades are very worth it and learn how to land in windows as you crouch, can fly right into buildings that way! Always look up and get to know what's where.
  5. anaverageguy

LOL. I had never thought that someone would mistake the ability button as the button for jetpack use. That certainly should have been explained somewhere or other..

If you're interested, just note that you can do everything with the basic jetpack that you can with other packs. It's not necessarily worthwhile to get the other ones. Of course, this is just my opinion, but I have found throughout beta that the basic jetpacks are more versatile [and that the drifter is useless]. Might want to upgrade a bit though. Fuel is a big issue in some cases.

The key is learning that sometimes.. holding the spacebar down is not always good idea.
    With the pack,
    You can fly vertically, which is obvious.

Slow descent from high altitude (just need to work on timing. You might burn all your fuel trying to slow down to non-lethal speed).

Fly across shorter gaps (better than the drifter can because you get vertical boost with the basic pack and you can adjust for elevation difference) by using intermittent bursts to stay aloft [the downtime allows fuel regen for longer flight].

Go wherever the heck you want.