I'd love to experience fighting at outposts rarely fought at but how?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Tharovinn, Jan 24, 2023.

1. Tharovinn

Intro
    I've been playing Planetside 2 since May 2021 and there are bases on all continents that I simply have not fought at more than a few times or not at all as infantry and I have a few things to blame for that.

1) Alerts are won by territory majority
    If everyone is "playing for the alert" then all a faction needs to win is 34% total territory controlled. All territory captured beyond that is redundant but it is for a good reason - to act as a buffer, to strengthen your lead against the other two factions, I understand why its done at all scales personal, to faction-wide. Unless it is for a cut-off there is no reason be delving so close to an empires warp gate where some of the outposts like The Old Stockpile on Indar, Nott Communications on Esamir, or Matsuda Genetics on Hossin need to be captured.

2) Lattice links
    The Lattice system places strategic value in the capturing of bases that support hard spawning for the bases in front of it. Its restrictive in that, even though a base might be 100 meters away you need to capture the 3 other bases its supporting on the lattice first.

3) Outpost Guarding
    Crater Firing Range on Indar is a base I've never fought at. What stands in its way is the rarely attacked J908 Impact Site. Without this ever being taken from by the faction on the south east or west warpgates

4) No mechanics to encourage attacking outposts near enemy warpgates

Back to me
    So why am I complaining? Well I want to experience everything the continent has to offer, which means fighting at all the bases, and I can't do that organically due to current mechanics and inconvenience discouraging fights ever happening at these bases.