[Suggestion] NSO Lacking Tactical Gear Limits Solo Play

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Soul_Shinobi, Nov 24, 2021.

1. Soul_Shinobi

TL;DR: The NSO are allegedly for solo players but lack competitive hardware for some specifically solo playstyles. The availability and acquisition process for tactical items needs a well conceived rework to make the faction appealing; as any player experienced enough to have even used the tactical slot will feel short-changed. I want to play on the NSO but I'm struggling to find reasons.

I started playing my NSO character to take advantage of the double XP event and my membership to get it up to my standards for effective solo play, as the NSO are intended. I quickly realized how critical multiple tactical items are for high level play, and I need to know if I can even acquire them. I know I can spend certs to lock my NSO character to a faction, then join an outfit (negating the solo freelance intent of the NSO), but then can I acquire tactical gear? I don't actually know. If I can, do I keep the gear if I then unlock my NSO character from a faction to be freelance again, like I want to? It seems a little embarrassing that it's so unclear that I have to ask.

Notes on some relevant playstyles: I want to Cortium Bomb unsuspecting tanks and help bust sunderers, and aside from attacking players bases the Cortium Bomb's only use is this kind of solo play (that and trolling spawn rooms as bases flip, please fix by making spawns no-bomb areas). When delivering sunderers it's important I do the most I can to harden my spawn logistics the best I can as a solo player and the Hardlight Canopy is critical. The Ordnance Dampener is an important tool to assist in room holds, and the Flash XS allows for some creative gameplay opportunities that are just kind of depressing to not have access to as an experienced player.
    • Up x 1
  2. Liewec123