[Suggestions] Some ideas to make the game varied

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by jd60fe, Feb 20, 2021.

1. jd60fe

Hello fellow Planetpeople,

First thing, is why am I saying these things. I am a veteran of PS1 and I think it might be time we stole some ideas from the original game. There are a lot of PS2 players who did not play PS1 and do not understand some of the things that made PS1 unique.

Second, we are stuck in this constant CTF game, with the same issues, and players tend to get bored and leave. I would like to see the game keep players. I am an older gamer and suck at the 1v1 twitch game, but see more ways to have support roles help the efforts.

So what are my suggestions?

1. Bring back the Lodestar - This was a heavy transport aircraft that could move MBT and Sundies. They could be certed to repair ships as well. This give air mobility to armor. Adds the need for fighter cover while en route.

2. Make water an *** pain again - In PS1, rivers where deep enough to drown vehicles except Magriders and Sunderers. This offered amphibious attacks on bases and made the Lodestar and Sundy more valuable for troop transport.

3. Bring back Cortium generators to bases - If your faction captured a base, you had to keep the generator full of energy via ANTS. This meant that a generator could deplete during a hold/defense and then a Lodestar would have to hot drop an ANT to keep the base from going neutral. The generator auto-repaired base defenses and used up energy. This would allow a small squad to force a base to go neutral behind the front lines and divert forces to retake and resupply.