Will Common Pool heat-based sidearms/primaries ever be on the table?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Bonemiser, Dec 7, 2020.

1. Bonemiser

Small thing that's bugged me since I started playing despite starting on VS. There's not a lot of heat-based weapons, and almost all of them are VS exclusive. From a lore perspective I guess that's cool, but gameplay should really come first for these kinds of things.

With the Shattered Warpgate happening, the NSO revamp coming up, and players already having heat-based pseudo-weapons in the mining pistol, I really think now is the time to consider NS heat-based weapons at least in the sidearm slot. It's a justifiable step forward that would address a long-time sore spot for TR and NC mains, particularly those that have had the pleasure* of pulling Cold Heart. It would be a nice alternative for Stalker Infiltrators if it's a pistol, and (most importantly) it will give everyone a chance to experience the pros and cons of heat ammo (usually it's just attachment limitations or bad weapon stats; it should probably be more).

Now is the time to push the envelope. Killer cutting-edge weapons being common pool is already something we see on live inside the Commissioner, NS-15 (somewhat) and NS Baron (stretching it here); in my eyes, getting a heat weapon on the level of the Baron or Pilot would be fantastic.

Opinions? Counter-arguments? Would love to know the reason why they haven't done so already, and if that reason is still in line with the current game direction.
    • Up x 1
  2. Blam320

It's called an Empire Specific mechanic for a reason. Get your own gimmick.
    • Up x 1
  3. ican'taim

Heat-based infantry guns shouldn't be in the game, and this is coming from a guy who loves asymmetrical balance and faction identity.
    • Up x 1
  4. JustGotSuspended