Help an ol' vet return to PS2

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by BrbImAFK, Nov 14, 2019.

1. BrbImAFK

Planetmans of the Forums - Help an ol' vet with not much of a mind left, make up his mind!

Long version is long...

So.... I started playing Planetside back in around 2005, not long after the release of Aftershock. It was my favourite game, and over time I stopped playing *everything* else to focus on Planetside - including the supposedly crack-like addiction-generator World of Warcraft.

I loved it. I mained NC, but played all three factions - I wore my goggles proudly, and shoved my fish-hat on just like every other alien-fetishist. I played everything. I spammed my Lasher, corner-whored with my Jackhammer, sat in HART queues, hovered on water with my Magrider, pounded on doorways with my Prowler, earned my backpack and beret, sat in my AMS while directing full platoons, ran LLU's (both from the caves to bases AND from bases into the water), grabbed my biffer and spent far, FAR too much time on Cyssor. I particularly enjoyed the far-superior support play in Planetside 1 (RIP Engineering and it's sub-trees, Hacking and it's sub-trees, my Deliverer and my beloved Lodestar).

I have dozens of wonderful memories of Planetside. Unfortunately, as with all good things, it came to an end. Numbers dropped, outfit members left, the Reserves program resulted in larger and larger numbers of hackers (either that or SOE's declining budget meant there were fewer and fewer support personnel to deal with them) and eventually I couldn't justify the subscription to myself... and after having three fully certed out characters, I just couldn't live with the restrictions of the reserves programme or the whole one-man-army-I-have-everything that the BR40 upgrade brought. So I moved on from Planetside.