A personal (short don't worry) theory / speculation as to why "farmer condensation" happens.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Zizoubaba, Oct 28, 2019.

1. Zizoubaba

Farmer condensation : the increasing density of players who just want to farm

I was wondering, the reason I was wondering is because I never ever (like ever) use the "join combat" option. So I don't know how it works, and I don't know how people use it.

When I started playing 6 years ago most people didn't use it, they chose where to go, they decided where to fight. Anyway...

When the population of a continent is lower (outside of prime time, can't be more precise), it seems there is a high percentage of players who "just want a fight" and don't care about anything else, even if an alert is running.

I'm guessing those players use the "join combat" option.

I'm speculating, that when the population is lower than prime time, the join combat option directs all players to the biggest fight, and/or to a big fight. Such as a biolab....

So imagine that I'm one of those miserable peasant farmers, I click join combat, I end up in the local biolab. After a while, I might get bored, so I click it again, but again, it directs me to the biolab.

If this is true (and I don't iknow whether it is but it would make sense), then that means that the join combat system is activelyt sabotaging the alerts by directing all players to a big fight.

If this big fight is in a biolab, the two opposing factions will "farm" each other for hours, while the 3rd faction, who doesn't have a big fight like that biolab, will basically push, rapidly taking control of the entire map while our friendly peasant farmers farm it out without a care in the world in the biolab.
  2. Demigan

Nah, the problem is that the game doesnt promote playing the core of the game (capturing bases) and does promote farming through KD.