Why is this game so prone to hacking?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by gunnner10, Aug 9, 2019.

1. gunnner10

Is it the mechanics of the game? or a consequence of client-side? I've been playing FPS games for 25 years, and this game takes the prize for questionable gun play
  2. JibbaJabba

Consequence of client side I think.

Extrapolation and prediction to handle network latency is somewhat processor intensive. With the scale of the game they can't do it all server side so much of it is done out on the client....on a machine DBG doesn't control.

But... it's also a game with a high skill ceiling, a powerful headshot multiplier, and no match making. There are a lot of players that will cut you down about as fast as your network can tell you about it.
  3. AllRoundGoodGuy

I think partly it's because this game has a real steep learning curve, and as such, a lot of situations *could* be explained my natural means, lag, good trigger discipline etc... This leads to an environment that let's "Under the radar" hackers get away with it for longer.

Idk, just my 2 cents.
  4. DirArtillerySupport

In PS1 for the first 3 years I never heard or saw anything resembling hacking. Then the reserves started and the game became a cesspool. People played for free and there was no accountability.
  5. DemonicTreerat

Both actually.

Having so much of the resolution done clientside combined with a truly appalling lack of security for said processes is basically handing the hackers & associated script-kiddies the keys to the game. Mechanics like a x2 damage on head shots, K/D tracking, and free to play provide plenty of incentive for cheaters to make the effort.