Center mass shooting: maximizing your shooting

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by battlegoose, Jan 17, 2015.

1. battlegoose

I have been playing this game and other shooters for almost 20 years. The biggest lesson I've learned in that time is that most of the population will never be able to get to the "I only make headshots" level of gameplay. There is that top 5% of all players that can consistently get high headshot ratings and maintain 27-30% accuracy ratings with automatic weapons. They are the elite and tend to live above all other players in almost every game. They also tend to be the part of the population with equipment purposed in high level gaming (higher end monitors, gaming keyboards and mice, the 16-20 inch mouchpads, etc.).

Then there is you, the average player. You wish you could do this but never seem to manage to get those headshots and because of this your performance suffers because you miss too many shots. While you may never get to that elite level of gaming, it doesn't mean you can't maximize your performance and still come out much better than you currently are.

All you have to do is to set your target a little lower (pun incoming). I mean that both literally and figuratively. You can easily get in the top 25% of gamers by simply shooting for the chest. There is a reason real world weapons training teaches you to shoot for center of the chest and not the head. While the heart might be 1/5 the size of your head, unlike shooting for the head, you still do a lot of damage if you miss. With the head it's an all or nothing shot. With a chest shot, you miss the heart, you still do a lot of damage to the surrounding chest cavity.

This very well applies to games as well. While you may not get that 2x headshot multiplier, you can still get the whole 1x chest mutliplier (which is better than hitting nothing when you miss the head).