Sunderer - Ranger or Walker for AA?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Elsewhere, Dec 22, 2014.

1. Elsewhere

Last year in the PS2 sale, I picked up Skyguard for 99SC (or was it 1SC?), but never touched it at the time. Thanks to Wrel's very good recent skyguard video, I started playing this. My problem is that I tend to get tunnel vision on what is in the air, and end up getting C4d quite often.

As I don't tend to move too much, a better choice might be to set up a Sunderer to allow allies to depoy, along with repair/ammo for allied armour. I am running a Basilisk on the front, and am quite happy with that, but on the rear, I specifically want to run an anti-air gun rather than an all-round-general-purpose gun.

I have trialled the Ranger, and while it `feels` a lot more like Skyguard (but weaker, understandably), 90% of the chat says its complete crap and I should stick to a Walker. Is it really as bad as people say or is it just the usual "if its not the OP flavour of the month, it sucks" type thing?

Thanks
  2. iller

Which one is just 2 pipes sticking out that fires some slower moving crap that looks like Flak, but does like way more damage than normal flak? Furies are pretty good too, there's a youtube video floating around of a fury sundy wrecking TONS of aricrafts, esp Libs
  3. FieldMarshall

[IMG]
    :D
    • Up x 6
  4. DFDelta

Let me put it like this.

At 400m the Walker deals its lowest damage. Yet at that range it still deals roughly 50% more damage per second then the Ranger against ESF (against other aircraft it is even more due to resistances), has a much tighter cone of fire and higher velocity which more then make up for the Rangers proximity fuses and have larger magazines plus a faster reload speed.
    If you are closer then 400m then the Walker becomes even better in comparison.

The only thing the Ranger has going for itself is that it sounds cool and may frighten a few unexperienced pilots because its "flak".