Transfers from West to East Coast Server, Possible?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by DeusExForever, Jul 26, 2014.

1. DeusExForever

When I started playing PS2, the one East coast server wasn't online (showed offline).

Now that there is a East coast server, is it possible to transfer to it, instead? Especially since you will lose all your gear if you have to start anew, and I had no choice but West and AU to play on.

I have 100mbit broadband, but the latency to the West coast is unbearable (e.g., too many both getting killed scenarios; and even with plenty of lead time the shots don't register). It's no better than playing on an AU server (which probably is in LA, too).

Spent yesterday floating around, like the latency peaked (or worse, packets were dropping at a very unacceptable rate -- and it only happens with PS2. Even EQ2 didn't drag like this at 150ms to the LA datacenter. Only comparison I have for it is 7 years ago with F.E.A.R. multiplayer on 600ms Russian servers).

My hardware isn't shabby (can multibox with 3 clients in WoW with <77ms to the LA datacenter. Atlanta Internap datacenter for a gameserver, it's 17ms. NJ datacenter, 22ms. Perth, Australia itself shows <237ms). Router and modem are DOCSIS 3.0 as well.

Can those that started the game play on the appropriate latency servers now and without the ungodly expense, as I had no choice what server to pick but 2 at the time -- and none that was even 1000 miles away!
  2. Inex

Well, considering that the east coast only just recently consolidated down to one server you can't possibly have that much time invested in your current character, maybe just start a new one on Emerald?
  3. Liam23490

Hit detection is client side. This means that if you hit them on your screen, they take damage.

It's not lag that's preventing you from hitting people, it's your skill level.

And sorry, but you can't transfer between servers. Sucks I know, seems like such a basic feature.