Need advice for learning how to tank

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Arnhem Knight, Jul 18, 2014.

1. Arnhem Knight

I've been a foot soldier throughout my entire ps2 career, and I've been wanted to learn how to tank. What should I invest my certs on? Acquisition timers? I play on NC and I know that the regular tank cannon is the way to go, enforcer is a must, shield is a must, rival combat chassis is a must, and that vehicle stealth is handy, but I don't know the very basics of handling a tank. What should my sensitivity be? What should I max first?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Flag

Rival is not a must, try Racer.
    • Up x 1
  3. Frozen-K

Enforcer is not a must on the vanguard. You can do well with a halberd. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. Also, HEAT shells are decent for the vanguard, but serious crews use an AP cannon. You can get away with HEAT shells for awhile, but don't try to take on tanks that have tank killing loadouts.

As for what I'd max, anything that keeps you in the field longer or helps you get experience to get more certs is what I'd max. In my case, I got enough acquisition timer (as vehicle life expectancy can be variable), and worked on the armor and chassis of the vehicle before anything else.

Tanking is all about positioning, and is something you just have to learn through experience. But keep an eye on where things are relative to you, ally and enemy, and keep an escape route in mind if things are looking dicey.
    • Up x 1
  4. Alarox

If you have any questions let me know.

- Timer: Cert out your acquisition timer as soon as possible. Getting it to ranks 5-8 is good enough; after that it becomes expensive.

- Repair Gun: Don't overlook this. Repairing your tank is important in and out of combat. I recommend getting a few ranks if you haven't already.

-----------------------