Observations from an older gamer.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Vertabrae, Jul 17, 2014.

1. Afeltman

You're obviously a young one.

[IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
  2. doombro

Is this turbonerd trying to diss the based oxford comma?
  3. Plunutsud pls

I've been gaming for about 20 years now.

Yes, I do miss the good old days when video games had a lot more character and soul.

Back then, devs made sure they were putting out a quality product because they knew that sales would either make or break their game.

Then the internet happened, people started ripping and pirating games - so the gaming industry hit back.

Now we have people paying to play "early access" alpha versions (imagine that a decade or more ago - people would have laughed in your face), while "finished" products are usually nothing more than a beta - and the game often gets dumped by devs soon after they make their initial profit from it.

I admit that I like free to play for the fact that you can try the game before spending any money on it.

But yeah, I also have to admit that f2p has also helped devolve the gaming industry into little more than a money-making monster.

Just one example is how Mechwarrior Online took decades of extensive lore and boiled it down to nothing but TDM.
    • Up x 4
  4. JudgeNu

We should start an over 40 outfit call it G33zR
    • Up x 1
  5. Paragon Exile

I've always wondered how many older folks play "intense" games like FPS' and RTS'.

I frequently play with a guy who is 84 (!) years old in my favorite strategy game, and he says he doesn't know either. So many questions! So few answers!
  6. Sawfly

As long as you put your glasses on so the screen isn't fuzzy and take a few pills for the finger arthritis you're fine :)
    • Up x 2
  7. CWorth

I am 40 years old and I love those types. Been gaming since..well my first "game" I played was Pong..lol