Lower the air skill ceiling

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Thatoneguy123, Mar 19, 2014.

1. deggy

You're not looking for a lower skill ceiling, you're looking for a lower skill floor.

Ace pilots should win most of the time, but the issue right now is that the skill floor on aircraft is so high that you have to already be good to know what you need to improve.

Have an experienced tutor helps a lot, but the air game needs something to make it easier to identify problem areas while being shredded by better players. That doesn't mean "make it easier". It means "make it easier to learn."

The skill cap can remain high, we just need a way of bringing new pilots into the game without coddling them.

Basically, when Rudelord turns my Scythe into Swiss cheese in one clip flat, have I learned anything from the engagement? No. I've learned that I'm not good at flying, but I knew that. What do I need to do differently next time? I have no idea. This kind of learning curve is what makes flying hard to get into. Add to that the fact that flying is inherently difficult (bumping things is unforgiving) and you've got a recipe for stagnation.
    • Up x 7
  2. z1967

Surely you mean lower the skill floor right? Because that would make more sense imo. And make the "noob" weapons not cost 1000 certs. That is one way to guarantee noobs will not have them.
    • Up x 3
  3. minhalexus

I dont know if I'm one of the good pilots on my server or not. - Mattherson

The trick is pretty simple. Fly in numbers. Join an Air outfit.
    Flew with QRY last night, and we dominated Esamir skies during the alert.

If you can see 2-3 enemy ESFs from a good air outfit. Then RUN if you are alone.

Honestly playing the air is not that hard.
    A week of gameplay and you should be starting to have a KD of 1 in a fair fight.
    • Up x 1
  4. Simferion

I think one of the step to make the skill floor lower could be discouraging the Warpgate Camping.