Possible to have new semi auto sniper rifle?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by applecherry, Feb 24, 2014.

1. applecherry

Hi,

I have been a beta player before the game was release and currently, there are only 2 semi-auto sniper rifles developed as compared to the bolt-action. I am hoping to have more variety for the semi autos. I don't consider the crossbow a real semi auto sniper rifle as I think that weapon is just a novelty and only cater to certain niche play style. I have tried using the bolt action and other rifles and carbines and I have to admit I am not really good at it at all. Thus, I only stick to the semi auto sniper rifle and I am getting bored of it... I am sure there are other people that are in similar circumstances that hope to have more variety of the semi-auto sniper rifle. I wonder why are there so many new bolt action rifle but little to no semi auto sniper rifles...Thanks for reading...

Regards,
    Natalie

[IMG]
  2. Amundsenkalmah

There's a NS semi-auto sniper rifle planned.
    You can try it on the test server (is the least ready so is bugged).
    Also there are 3 semi-auto right?
  3. starlinvf

Its kind of counter productive though, since Sniping is defined by a niche set of criteria. Then theres the DMRs and Semi-auto scout rifles that are supposed to fill the mid-range category. We basically have 2 types of Semi-auto snipers.... ones that use high powered scopes, and the one that uses low power sights. Neither of these have same kind of usability as the Bolts do over 75m, as follow up shots are a pain in the butt. I would argue the low powered semi sniper are better suited as battle rifles, as they have the raw damage and the lack of sway helps with follow up shots.
  4. Paperlamp

There's an NS one in the works, but it's going to be very, very similar to the existing ones unless they change the stats more.
  5. _Neko_

Wow, a polite thread in this forum? :eek: