PS2 TO GO 64bit!

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by AdmiralArcher, Feb 4, 2014.

1. AdmiralArcher

they cant really do that with this kind of game because of its hit reg and other client side things, 64 bit code doesnt get along with 32 bit code, its too much for the system to handle and it cant open the packets fast enough (i think, im no expert)
  2. Typhoeus

Are there people actually playing this on just 4gb of ram at most? LOL It's 2014 I doubt anyone is gaming on a 32bit op system. I can't even imagine how painful of an experience that would be lmao.
  3. AdmiralArcher

well i run a 64bit OS but i only have 4gb of ram, and thats laptop ram mind you
  4. Admiralty

I have an unoverclocked i5 2500k, 4GB RAM, and a GTX 660.

Would there be any problems if I reinstalled the 64bit version of Win7 and bought another 4GB of RAM?
  5. Gav7x

I will finally be able to run on ultra textures, yay
  6. Ronin Oni

You won't need to get more ram... it will just benefit you.

And no, you would have no problems reinstalling with 64bit windows on your current box.
  7. MurderBunneh

Ya roughly 6% will lose that ability.
  8. MurderBunneh

They are working on DX11 along with 64bit client. Mantle will be used on PS4 version at some point. This is another reason why PS4/XBOX will get more bang then equally equipped pc's.
  9. EvilPhd

I'm going to say the OS as well.
    Steam hardware survey
    http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey
    5.96% Windows XP 32-bit

To contrast
    Windows 7 64 bit 50.56% -0.20%
    Windows 8.1 64 bit 10.41% +1.88%
    Windows 8 64 bit 10.01% -0.55%
    Windows Vista 64 bit 2.84% -0.41%
    MacOS 10.9.1 64 bit 1.80% +1.30%
    System RAM
    8 GB 26.89% +0.41%
    >=12 GB 11.20% +0.20%
    The resources are out there. The program limiting itself to 32 bit is not taking advantage. Esp when you have SO MUCH crap to draw, and load, and store. Going 64 bit will open up those resources.
  10. f0d