Does anyone care about the current "meta-game" at all?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by GumboEU, Sep 22, 2013.

1. GumboEU

I like playing PS2 and I like leading squads. I have not played PS1 back in the day, but heard a lot of good stuff about big tactical battles, sneaky infiltrations, last-second ANT runs, etc. Those things were what made me check out PS2 in the first place. It's an okey-ish shooter, and a certain feeling of epicness is there in the big battles, however... the "meta-game" has been seriously lacking ever since I started playing this game in December last year.

I still have some hope that SOE will implement system that makes the battles actually meaningful, but right now were are stuck with a very poor "meta-game" wannabe.

Still I like to pick my fights with some - more or less - strategic thought. I look for battles my squad could make a real difference. I prioritize defending key facilities or cutting of big chunks of enemy territory when possible. Often this will result in good enjoyable fights, but sometimes it means a couple of easy captures with little resistance.

Over the last couple of months I noticed a trend with a lot of players I team up with regularly: They will simply go to the biggest fight they can find to duke it out. Defending a Tech Plant in 12-12? Nah, there is a big 48-48 fight in some unconnected territory on the other side of the map, let's go there! Sneak behind enemy lines with a couple of AA Maxes and Engineers to pick on unsuspecting ESFs/Libs? Nah, too much waiting, not enough XP per hour!

A lot of players I know have become so focussed of XP/hour, personal score, etc. That they will simply ignore that last enemy Sunderer, because "killing it takes away all the nice farm" (sic).

Ok, so after this long wall of text I got some questions for you, especially squad and outfit leaders:
    - Do you care about what little meta-game we currently have at all?