Last Chance SOE

Discussion in 'Infiltrator' started by Kaisuke7, Jul 30, 2013.

1. zaspacer

Very good points.

I worked as a Dev. And most Devs I worked with NEVER read the forums. And most of those who read the forums kept what they found to themselves. The only time most of us heard anything from the forums was when some issue was blowing up so big on the forums that it got some Devs attention and they felt compelled to tell the rest of us about it.

It also doesn't help that there are apparently no Infiltrators on the Dev team. (as in people who play the class, not people who have "spent some time in it")

However, since they are supposedly focusing on the Infil Class now, it's likely our best chance that they might actually browse the Infil forums.

... but you're right, it's not likely they'll see any of these posts or that they'd really understand them if they did.

Proactive balancing on new items is just not the PS2 way.

*Maybe* if someone posted a current report like this. But even then I highly doubt it.

PS2 Devs like to sell an OP item/unit and then let it rule for a couple months. They even announced that they delayed a planned nerf to the Fury because it had gone up on sale right before the intended change. They want to give buyers of new toys some time really enjoying playing OP with that toy for a while.

Yup.

I've heard it expressed in the FPS design community that Sniping as a game mechanic creates too much "unfun" in the game for the Sniping victims: surprise sudden death from long range. So I think SOE decided to give players the option to Loadout in a way that nullifies this "unfun" mechanic.

I'm not saying I am for or against such game design. I am simply relating what I think is going on.

Though in all fairness, it could just as easily be what you suspect: it's broken but no Dev who could fix it is aware or cares about it.