New laptop to play ps2, advice

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by mikeyyy109, May 1, 2013.

1. mikeyyy109

Hi guys, i started playing ps2 about a week ago, i currently only have my laptop which is asus k55vd i5 2.5ghz 8gb ram and a 610M 2gb GPU. With this laptop i can run most games in med-high settings but ps2 is laggy even on lowest settings (14fps in fights 30fps at base). So ive decided to get a new laptop just for ps2 and dont want to keep playing the changing laptop game so im going straight for an alienware M17X which is ~£1900 i7 3.3ghz 8gb ram and either a 7970m or a 680m, but what my real question is has anyone that plays ps2 use a 7970m or 680m? the 680m is £200-300 more than the 7970m but not that much more performance, but ive heard the 7970m has driver issues sometimes, and with the physicx option maybe coming to ps2 soon is this game going to be more optimised for nvivida? Which card should i go for? For all the laptop haters desktop isnt an option, i moved from desktops and not going back, if my 610m which gets slated as a horrible gaming gpu can run most new games at high settings then surely the m17x will kick ***?

Thanks in advance for any input.
  2. BlackDove

You won't get PhysX at all on a 7970M.

A 610M is less powerful than HD Graphics 4000.

A Maingear would most likely be a better option than an Alienware. You could get an Asus G75 with a 670M and that should play it ok. This game just doesn't work worth a **** now.
  3. DJStacy

I play PS2 on an Alienware laptop my specs are on my sig. I play with everything on High apart from shadows on medium.
    I have Physx on, max verticle field of veiw and a render distance of 2000m.

I do have my GPU overclocked to 698MHz its 620 stock, I use Nvidia inspector to do this. PS2 performance has been up and down with patches but at the moment its rather fine, no complaints.
  4. mikeyyy109