Bullet rise in Rams .50?

Discussion in 'Infiltrator' started by pr0gr4m, Jan 17, 2013.

1. pr0gr4m

I recently picked up the RAMS .50 and love it. But I found my aim was off quite a bit so I did some completely un-scientific testing. I started shooting at walls using walls that had horizontal lines. I would put my crosshair on the line, hold my breath and fire then see where the bullet hole ended up. Every shot resulted with a bullet hold above the line. Not some of the shots...every one. I went through all 25 shots. It wasn't above the line by a lot but enough for me to determine that I had some bullet rise before gravity kicked in.

In practical use I've found that aiming at the top or just above an enemy head with this gun results in a miss. But If I aim low on the head or in a couple cases on their neck, I get the head shot.

Has anyone else noticed this?
    Is it a result of the guns 'accuracy'?
    Could I be too close to the target (I'm definitely not at close range) for example shooting guys inside the middle of an Amp station from rocks outside of the outer wall?
  2. Lucidius134

The snipers tend to be zero'd for around 200m. (so i've heard)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rifleman's_rule
  3. Weirdkitten

Guns are zeroed at some range, my very quick and dirty testing indicates its around 150m, so yeah there is a bit of bullet rise on sniper rifles.

As you noticed, if you shoot down you need to aim lower than normal for the range, if you shoot up you need to aim higher. Exactly how much depends on angle and the bullet speed of the weapon you are using. Explanation given in the riflemans rule wikipedia article is good.
  4. jhwoody

You are absolutely right in your observation. However, what you are noticing is modeling of real world bullet flight trajectories. When you fire a bullet from a rifle in real life, the bullet does actually rise a bit, then start falling due to gravity. I believe it is called parabolic flight.