VX6-7 or a Shotgun?

Discussion in 'Engineer' started by Aiur, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Aiur

I've been looking at a replacement for my Solstice since I reached my goal of getting the HE Lightning. I tested the VX6 earlier, and TBH, I wasn't really impressed. It looked/felt like the Solstice with a better firing rate, nothing more. I'm considering getting it because of the advanced laser, pretty much nothing else. I haven't tested the shotguns yet because of the long trial cooldown and I'm sure I'll get around to it, but I was just looking for some general opinions. As an engineer I'm fighting mostly in confined quarters like generator rooms, so medium range is really the furthest I want to engage someone.
  2. Yautja

Shotgun and slug rounds if you can aim.

VX6-7 is you can't.
  3. Speedy87

Serpent.

once u get used to it its amazing in cqc and managable recoil, with some bust fire u can take down target in medium ranges aswell
    reload time a bit long but that's the only con pretty much
  4. Akordia

Actually i use the Serpent, and my first problem is this ******* reload time. The RoF is so high that if you dont put all the bullets in the target quickly, you are stuck 3 sec on reload reload.... and you die.

Ill try the VX, reload time is faster than Serpent.
  5. Rogueghost

While I'm not vs, I can tell you depending on the one you get shotguns aren't very effective any farther then melee range.
    Granted some shotguns offer you less spread, at the cost of either reload time, clip size, damage, or fire rate.
    You can also always use slug rounds, and while I never used them I heard they greatly reduce your Cqc effectiveness.
  6. Speedy87

it is a matter of getting used to tough.. the first instinct is to hold down fire, but u can actually burst it for much better results , even with the long reload time i prefer it over the vx since u can engage in a bit longer distances and thus making u slightly more effective
  7. Erendil