Gauss Compact S ?

Discussion in 'Engineer' started by SirBurning, Nov 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SirBurning

Hey guys

I'm mainly a Engineer player, and I wondered. Is the upgrade from the Mercenary to the Gauss Compact S worth it?

I currently run my Mercenary when using vehicles/on foot
    And i run the GD-7F when I am assaulting facility's.
    Now the GD-7F is good, but it lacks range ofcourse.

Do you guys think the Gauss Compact S is worth it's cost because of the attachment options? Or does it have other characteristic's that make it stand out from the mercenary?
  2. Ghostfox

It is a solid weapon that can be equipped to fill any role you are missing. You can spec it out for short ranged or long ranged through cert unlocks.

Overall, one of the better unlocks.
    • Up x 1
  3. Griz

Gauss Compact S is straight-up worse than the mercenary - slower reload and lower rate of fire with everything else being pretty much the same. the only reason to use it is so you can get the underbarrel grenade launcher.
  4. Ghostfox

Eh, I've had more success with it than the Mercenary. Handling characteristics are different and better.
  5. Mirakk

Gauss S handles awesome. You can use it for close/medium range effectively. It has 3 fire modes. Personally I like using the burst fire when I'm shooting longer distances.

It also handles 2 ammo types: Soft point, and High Velocity.

You can also get the underbarrel Grenade Launcher, and Smoke Grenades. Both of which are very handy. Engineers need to think outside the box sometimes to be really effective in a firefight. I think the Smoke Grenades compliment that wonderfully. It's a great way to hide your hastily deployed bouncing betty or sticky grenade assault.