The 0 Cert challenge. This game is not Pay 2 win.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by FortySe7en, Nov 28, 2012.

1. Cedj

This.

While infantry are around fairly well off , vehicles and aircraft get a massive boost from equipment and most of it is 1000 certs a piece.

I'm not a FPS prodigy, I suppose I'm slightly above average. And i beat your 3 hour 15 min score in my first encounter with the Dalton in ~20 mins, with ease.

There is something that enrages me when talking about the pay to win issue, when people claim that pay to win is when you can buy something that f2p players cant that is overpowered. THIS DOES NOT EXIST!

Sure, It's been seen a few times in the past as a desperate move to milk out some more cash from dead games, but no one can pull it off anymore.

To me, pay to win is when you can buy in-combat items straight out for cash, items that will take an unreasonable amount of time to acquire without paying, provided that they provide a combat advantage. Which a lot of vehicle/aircraft weapons in this game do.

Most of the default ones just can't decide what they want to be good against, and the 1000 cert ones are flat out upgrades.
    Before you say, exceptions do exist. Mag primary for example is fabulous, I'm sure there are others.

I'm not saying that the game is pay to win, but I'm not saying that it isn't eighter. It's just not that simple.

I'd continue to rant but I have to back to pretending to work.
  2. HvcTerr

And don't forget, one guy without certs is still going to benefit a lot from all the random teammates around him who are spending certs. Every time you spawn at a sunderer, for starters.

Maybe SOE should set up a special server where one faction can't spend certs. :p
  3. Inviso

[IMG]

I'm no pro-gamer. But this seems incredibly easy. You're right. It's totally not Pay2Win.

And I didn't even do it on easymode NC
  4. rzr22

I feel like this whole Pay2Win thing is an annoyingly boring topic to discuss.