[Suggestion] New Player Experience Band-Aid

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by SupaFlea, Jan 31, 2023.

1. SupaFlea

Howdy, I have no coding or dev experience what so ever so not sure how or if this could be implemented but have an idea as follows.

BR1-25 5x cert amount gain(% buff certs received then X5) with a 1x reduction every 5 levels till it levels out or something along these lines.

It allows for mistakes and allows news player to really taste the game and STAYING which is always the issue, people try the game, find its to chaotic to stay long enough to really learn the game.

Planetside 1 only made you weight 6hrs-8 hrs to get certs back you mistakingly spent or if you wanted to change up your class so it didnt penalise you for mistakes really and allowed variety with perminent cost. The average new player doesnt stay long enough to make 1000certs etc.

Any Thoughts.
  2. TR5L4Y3R

or OR ... they could extend the time a person likes to trial something (without it recieving directiveprocess) allong with the ability to actualy use extentions, meaning if a player wants to trail a primary for example that he then is also able to use scope and railattechements ect.

there is always are difference using a setup in VR and in liveplay ...
    • Up x 2
  3. Johannes Kaiser

Remember something like this a year or two ago, and spitballed some scaling numbers, going lower with the bonus the higher the BR went. It's as OP stated definitely a bandaid, but it would help new players get over the starting pains.
    Problem with this is, as was back then, that veterans rolling new alts would also get this bonus, despite not needing it.
  4. RabidIBM

I'm not sure how much would be helped by better exp payout. Truly new players don't have the frame of reference to know that they are getting certs faster. I don't mean to shut down the conversation about how to help newbies, I just don't see this as changing much.