How would light semi-auto primaries be balanced?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by SlugSniper, Feb 10, 2019.

1. SlugSniper

Ever since I started playing Planetside 2 (and uninstalled and reinstalled it several times over), I've been wanting to see some kind of smaller-caliber semi-auto weapon that resembles the Mauser M1917 Trench Carbine (featured in Battlefield 1) or the M1 Carbine.

One of my first suggestions was for a Light Assault weapon (unique to the class) with these characteristics along with laser-accurate hip-fire for airborne sharpshooting. It seemed somewhat pointless to the community since I originally intended it for the NC along with TR and VS weapons with questionable characteristics and later reimagined it as an NS weapon (which seems to be taboo these days).

I'm not even sure if something like this would be best as an all-kit weapon, a special Carbine, or even a Scout Rifle. All I know is that the idea of a compact pistol or intermediate-caliber DMR-like weapon is very appealing to me for some strange reason.

Am I the only one? How would something like this be balanced properly?
  2. DeadlyOmen

In a game that features asymmetric combat and an infinite number of possible engagements, talk of balance can only be self-serving.
  3. FateJH

Swing and a miss.
    • Up x 2
  4. TR5L4Y3R

depends on how effective you want it to be at range, there is a reason why lights don´t have access to battlerifles for example ..
    and asking for a carbine (which i can see be useable for the engineer as well anyway) to be able to snipe while airborne sounds pretty strong for how mobile lights are ..
    you would have to either bring it to gausssaw levels of being punishing on a miss or throw a x1.75 HS multiplyer instead of a x2 HSM ... heck maybe even both .. or lower the dmgprofile ..
    aren´t there NC carbs that kinda fill that role or automatics that have semiautomodes?