I quit today

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by guerrillaman, Aug 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zaspacer

I have yet to really quit PS2, but as a Designer, I *greatly* benefit from people posting on why they've quit, feel like quitting, have just stopped playing, or have just started to play less. Likewise with anybody new, playing more, etc. It's all data that helps me to better understand the player responses to and feelings towards gameplay/changes/etc., and it feeds back into my better understanding player response to the PS2 experience and gaming experiences in general. I have learned a lot this way, and I highly value that knowledge and appreciate those sources that helped me get it.

If/When you do quit, I would love to hear feedback on the whys of it if you are game.
  2. Ziggurat8

Look man. PVP literally means player vs player. It originated in MUD's (text based online rpgs) and simply meant that you could attack or steal from another player. Hence PVP. They also had PVE or player vs environment where you interacted with non player characters. That's all it means. Period.

All that other stuff you tacked on there is simply what PVP means to YOU for this particular game.

There is no code of ethics one must abide by or not abide by for something to qualify as pvp. One must simply engage another player for it to qualify as pvp.

For some people in some games PVP means being the villain, killing or stealing from anyone they can, for others it means being the hero and defending each other from villains but it all boils down to the same thing, engaging other players. The how, where and when you can engage other players depends on the game.

The why always lies with player. Your "why" doesn't have to be the same as my "why" for it to be pvp.