Ultimate Vehicle Thread- "Vehicles kind of suck to play; We should change that" [+Base Overhaul]

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by MrNature72, Jun 26, 2014.

1. MrNature72

I entirely agree.

This is one of my favorites (if not the favorite) thread of mine that I've ever made, so I really enjoy posts like this.
  2. RealtimerBob

Bump for great justice!
    I accidentally came across this thread from someone's signature,
    And I have to say I love the ideas!
    As a developer myself, though, I must also say that unfortunately, much of what you suggest here may take a lot of effort and dev time, especially with an unstable, hard to refactor framework geared more towards mathematical efficiency than extensibility and ease of code - which is the impression I get from the game engine, both server and client side. Also, tweaking map design is an especially daunting task without an extremely easy-to-use design toolkit (compare, for example, Source engine MAP designer (complicated, hard to use) versus, for example, Transport Tycoon, where creating maps is easy and doesn't take much time, even changing things on-the-fly.
    These points and a few more I'm not going to type up on a mobile phone greatly reduce the odds of such a revamp happening in any reasonable timeframe...
    But if it was in my power, I would love to try and help implement these things even myself, which is to say - I LOVE the suggestions, and I'm bumping so that maybe a dev would think the same and not give up the second he opens up his IDE, and actually try to implement it - totally worth the inevitable bugfest and subsequent bugfix rage, imho.

Go Nature!
  3. MrNature72

+10 points to you, my friend!
  4. Jake the Dog

Theres alot wrong with the tank balance of the thread, however the parts about giving tanks something to do is good. You have to use the tanks alot and see how the tankplay works to get a real feel for it.
  5. Schizomatic