[Suggestion] Main Battle Tank weapon choices are boring. Lets have more exciting options! (pics inside)

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Bukoski, Feb 19, 2015.

1. Bukoski

I'm fairly new to Planetside--only recently have I started playing a lot. I enjoy much of what the game has to offer.

However, something that sticks out like a sore thumb to me is the lack of variety in a lot of weapon choices. Most tend to be slight variations of another with different stats. The most egregious are the main armaments for MBTs. We have an AP, HEAT, and HE version; however, each version is just the same looking tank, same mechanics, with minor stat adjustments. Honestly these days, everyone seems to use AP and HEAT is relegated to those who haven't unlocked AP yet. Having similar weapons with different stats isn't very exciting, is often hard to balance variety of use, and doesn't impact gameplay much.

So let us have better MBT armament options! When I select a main weapon for my MBT, I want to immediately see big changes in playstyle, visual aesthetic, and faction differentiation most of all.

So without further ado, here are some pictures I photoshopped quickly of what Planetside 2 could have.

Terran Republic: Hybrid anti-tank and infantry:
    [IMG]
    Same MBT armament as we have now. Used to kill infantry with a direct hit or kill enemy tanks.

Terran Republic: Anti-tank:
    [IMG]
    The TR's new AP option would be a missile tank. Two firing modes are available:
    1). Two missiles are guided to whatever direction the tank's turret points.
    2). A fire and forget dummy mode.