If you buff Dumbfire Velocity and Remove 1HKO on infantry, you might make this game less miserable

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Fortress, May 26, 2014.

1. Fortress

...for new players, at the very least. We care about them, right? The new guys, with nothing more than a dumbfire and a dream?

Hi, I'm Fortress, and I am a relentless viper farmer. I have the most viper kills in the game, actually, and do you know what my primary crop is?

Dumbfire Heavies. Oh baby, are they not the most delicious and helpless weapon and class combination in this game. Nothing says "Free kill!" like a pack of these suckers desperately sprinting forward in the remote hope that they might get close enough for their potato launchers to score a hit.

Why do they have to get so close? Because Dumbfires are hilariously slow. Shoot one and look at it while it travels. Is it not the laziest projectile in the game? Why on earth would anyone look at this and think "yep, this will be perfect against those prowlers 250m+ in the distance. This won't get me farmed at all!"

You see, this is a problem. New players don't have much in the way of AV work, but they do have dumbfires. And new players are going to expect that rocket launchers have at least SOME effect on the hordes of farmmobiles roaming the game. But they don't.

But they would if these things could actually hit vehicles. And they would hit vehicles if they actually had some speed behind them. So here's my suggestion:

Rockets get 200 m/s velocity minimum. If you notice, that's about the average velocity of tank weapons. That should be enough to score a hit or two before getting relentlessly cut down.

Oh, and of course this would mean no more rocket primary noobery because of obvious reasons, but players who rely upon that **** are literally satan. You don't want to help satan, do you?
    • Up x 22
  2. gigastar