you created 2[abrasive sandpaper] - intended?

Discussion in 'Tradeskill Discussion' started by ARCHIVED-kaokhaai, Aug 1, 2007.

1. ARCHIVED-kaokhaai Guest

Im currently a lvl 20 carpenter, and haven't crafted a lot of things since I went carpenter yesterday so I'm hardly experienced at these sorts of things. I was thrilled to see new items in my book today after the patch, so I went ahead and made me some halfling hanging chimes. I didn't pay attention for the first one, so it didn't end up pristine. I got the message "You created 2[abrasive sandpaper] and 2[severed maple], and looking at the screen I didn't get the crude>shaped steps, I got 3x abrasive sandpaper. I tried again, got pristine this time, and the 4th step was a pristine hanging chime. It's nice that I got some mats back, but is that intended or is it a bug? I made some of the old furniture too but they all seemed to work fine. Just curious if this is a bug or it's intended.
  2. ARCHIVED-ashen1973 Guest

this is intended. All new recipes should be like this now. You only get the item if you get 'pristine'. lesser qualities return fuel/components (with less return for worse combines) If you fail to create 'pristine' when using rares, you always get the rare back.
  3. ARCHIVED-VolgaDark Guest

[p]Yes, its working as intended. Basically this is how crafting will be for most of us post Kunark. The only exception will be consumables (I think). [/p][p]Non-rare recipes: if you miss "pristine" you get your "fuel" back.[/p][p]Rare recipes: if you miss "pristine" you get your rare back.[/p][p]In both cases you "make" something only if you complete 4th quality level. [/p]
  4. ARCHIVED-Troubor Guest

Kind of hoping they do this with the old recipes too..I know there's a long thread about such at least in part, not sure where that went though, I stopped following it a while back.
  5. ARCHIVED-kaokhaai Guest