Why play a Berserker over a Monk? (honest input needed)

Discussion in 'Monk' started by ARCHIVED-Idrasticl, Mar 25, 2006.

1. ARCHIVED-Idrasticl Guest

First of all, I'm asking this seriously; not posting this to bait flames, etc. I honestly want input and points to consider, as I am a noob to eq2 :)

I want 1 thing as far as my char goes - a dps fighter that does massive dmg output - I dont care about tanking ability at all really. Mainly interested in 1v1 PvP fights (not really epic PvE raids, or huge PvP battles)

ATM, I have a lvl 9 Berserker and a Lvl 6 Monk. From what I've read, everyone is telling me that Monk will suit what I'm after better than a Zerker. So far, I tend to agree - Monk has great dmg output and even self heals.

So, my question to you guys is: What good reasons are there for playing a Berserker over a Monk? I wanna make sure Im not missing anything here. Could you guys enlighten me a little :)
  2. ARCHIVED-zaboron Guest

massive damage output, no tanking? roll a scout.
  3. ARCHIVED-ios_gr Guest

I second that.
  4. ARCHIVED-Idrasticl Guest

OK, I get what you guys are saying

but if you had to answer the question in the context of a Fighter - what would it be?

Also, for solo'ish PvP, is a Scout a better choice? I figured most Fighter classes would still pwn them 1v1... yes/no?
  5. ARCHIVED-The Moor Guest

Perhaps the brusier may suit you better. More dmg and a better self heal
  6. ARCHIVED-Bewts Guest

Fighter?
    High DPS?
    PK Server?

Shadow Knight and Harm Touch. Mages fear you, Scouts cringe. Priests, well lets hope they have reactives/wards up to live through a HT. Only issue you'd run into is other SK's and fighters with a massive resist line to... disease? Shoot at level 70 a SK can debuff disease by over 1k, then drop a HT and few opponents can live through one of those. Even if someone resists that wearing plate leaves you some leeway to handle any melee classes.