Why I think Gage is right

Discussion in 'Monk' started by ARCHIVED-Ibreaka Ufaca, Mar 17, 2005.

1. ARCHIVED-Ibreaka Ufaca Guest

I started playing EQ1 since week one of release. I played for approx. 4 years and ended up in a pretty good raid guild on drinal (cats in hats, I miss you guys btw) blah blah youv'e read enough of these statements before. Anyway, when I put down EQ1 I decided I wouldn't play again, but welp that ol' crack kept callin' so I picked up EQ2, some friends were playing etc, etc. I rolled up my first character, a troll, and decided to make him a monk. This is where I fell for the trap. I played EQ2 like I was still in EQ 1. I thought I would be doing all the pulling, using Feign death, really being in the action etc etc which is what I missed in EQ1, as I was a support class. I just assumed that EQ2 was going to be an extension of EQ1 so I had made a good decision. WROOOONNNG! All classes can pull equally well. Then, as I trolled the boards, I noticed this Gage guy spouting off about how we where tanks, and I am like jeez what a newb, this guy must have never played EQ1, again, the second trap. Then, I did my homework, and looked at some of the things SOE promised and what Gage is saying. All I can say is I am converted. I am not a EQ1 monk, and I never will be that cool pulling, FDing man that's in all the action. But, what Gage has convinced me of is that we are Tanks. He has also convinced me that we should be held level to other tanks, but by different ways. Furthermore, I am amused by the European feeling that "TANK" means guy with big heavy, burdened armor that is supposed to be the toughest. Some may argue that the eastern warrior may have shown that plate wearer a thing or 2. In summary, I have fell for the "EQ2 should be like EQ1" trap. I am glad I read some of Gage's posts to see otherwise. I am a tank, and I wanna be able to tank as well as another tank class, period.
    Tank > DPS
    Ibreaka Ufaca
    level 34 Troll Monk