Why go Melee?

Discussion in 'Warden' started by ARCHIVED-awetzel, May 7, 2010.

1. ARCHIVED-awetzel Guest

Im really new to the game and am interested in playing a warden but i dont understand why i want to go melee or why there are so many melee AA's and hardly any caster ones. If im reading it right my dawnstrike will be on a longer recast and force me to be close to a mob but casts faster. why wouldnt i rather want to be away from the mob and recast much faster? I guess what im really asking is what is the biggest benefits to Being Melee in PVE and PVP?
  2. ARCHIVED-RodHammer Guest

The melee AAs allow you to do much more damage earlier in your life then the traditional spell attacks. This is because the melee attacks that replace your spells level with you. Also, there are several other melee attacks you can add with AAs. Instead of just a few spells you will have a large number of strikes. You will take a beating when soloing, but will kill fast enough it will not matter, especially with your heals.
    Of course, when grouping you will probably want to use a healing AA build, I find the melee is best for solo xp grinding.
  3. ARCHIVED-awetzel Guest

Thanks i have a scribe so my spells were at expert level i think that was why i was under the impression that the spells were better. Im only level 12 but i will take your advise and start to go melee. Should i start in druid or Warden trees first im assuming switching dawnstarike and ice strike to melee should be my first priority but ill ask to make sure

Thanks
  4. ARCHIVED-StaticLex Guest

Yes, fill the combat art AAs in the warden tree first, then the strength line, then litany of combat in the TSO tree.
  5. ARCHIVED-awetzel Guest

such good tuff thanks for the advice guys
  6. ARCHIVED-Liyle Guest