Why are monks better tanks than swashbucklers?

Discussion in 'Monk' started by ARCHIVED-1SickPuppy, Apr 12, 2005.

1. ARCHIVED-1SickPuppy Guest

Hi all,

I am a super noob to this game so bear with me. Love the game btw. So i rolled a bunch of chars to see what i liked and finally started a monk and liked him. Then i find out his pp atribute is str but without agi he dies so ok im upset but i hear gear can upset this problem. So im playing him some more then i see that a swashbukler is a agi char as well + there agi goes to there pp and they get the same absorbtion and dodging abilites (basic not skill wise) that i do as a monk and they get to wear med armors. So im just a confused noob here anyone who can straighten me out would be greatly appreciated.... I just want to roll a char i can call my main lol.
  2. ARCHIVED-ArivenGemini Guest

As you reel me in... :)

the chant to remember goes something like this:
    Fighters tank
    Scouts stab
    Mages nuke
    Priests heal

Monks are fighters, they are better for in front and facing down the mob, keeping it's attention while the scouts stab it from behind and the mages nuke from afar/behind.

Swashys are scouts, they get a lot of attacks that require attacking from the side and behind, and while they get a few taunts, it is mostly as extra utility for them then as an indication they should be a regular tank.

Dont let the agi vs strength thing phase you... I have a monk with a 96 agi.. but only about 56 strength... and a buddy of mine has almost the reverse... both of us are viable tanks.. I dodge a bit more, he hammers them down faster due to a bit more dps..but in a properly configured group we both work fantastic as tanks...

When doing short term tanking with my swashbuckler, I get hammered down faster and avoid less than I do with my monk.. so the higher level armor doens't make up for the tanking abilities of the monk.
  3. ARCHIVED-Bladewind Guest